web design by magicdust




World Champions New Zealand headline Oceania Women's Sevens Championship Line-up at the 2013 Noosa International 7's Festival

Huriana Manuel steps. photo Zoomfiji


September 26, 2013 - 8:22pm

The Federation of Oceania Rugby Unions (FORU) today announced the 2013 Oceania Women’s Sevens Championship schedule, to be hosted in Noosa, Australia on 5 and 6 October as part of the Noosa International 7s Festival.

This year’s event will play host to the powerhouse Women’s sevens teams of the Oceania region, and will see current and past Women’s Sevens World Champions New Zealand and Australia headlining the list of participating teams.  Papua New Guinea and defending Oceania Women’s Sevens Champions New Zealand will open the Oceania Women’s Sevens Championship, followed by Australia taking on Fiji.  Teams will play in a round-robin format before progressing to Semi-finals, and a Final to determine the winner. 

The Participating Unions for the 2013 event include current World Champions, New Zealand and Women's Sevens World Series core team Australia; Samoa - who recently qualified for the 2014 Women's Rugby World Cup in France, 2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens Bowl Winners Fiji and Papua New Guinea.

Noosa International 7s Festival Event Director, Dene Brooks, said “The Tournament is growing from strength to strength, and we are delighted to include the 2013 Oceania Women’s Sevens Championship as part of this year’s Festival schedule.  We are also very excited to have current and past Women’s Sevens World Champions New Zealand and Australia featuring among the Oceania Women’s teams, and playing at our tournament.  We are in for some exciting rugby across the weekend.”

2013 Oceania Women’s Sevens Tournament Director, Andrea Healy said “The 2013 Oceania Women’s Sevens Championship is a significant tournament for exposing FORU teams to international competition, particularly in the build-up to the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. The 2013 tournament will feature the powerhouse teams of Women’s Rugby in the Oceania region, so the scene is set for some intriguing Women’s sevens Rugby.”

“The Federation of Oceania Rugby Unions would like to thank the Noosa Dolphins Rugby Union Club and the Australian Rugby Union for hosting the 2013 Oceania Women’s Sevens, and along with the other competitions that will make up the Noosa International 7s Festival, we look forward to a feast of sevens rugby.” said Healy.
The 2013 Oceania Women’s Sevens  will be New Zealand’s first defence of the Oceania Women’s Sevens trophy, and their first outing since the 2013 RWC Sevens in Moscow. The Oceania Women's Sevens Championship is funded by the International Rugby Board as part of it's GBP4.5million direct annual investment in the region.

Live Match results will be available through the FORU Twitter handle: @FORU_Inc


Huriana Manuel steps. photo Zoomfiji



NI7's: Saturday 5th & Sunday 6th October

Where: Dolphin Oval, Sunshine Beach

Tickets: Available NOW through our Ticketing tab




Click on the icons below to join us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter or visit our partner event the Auckland 7s.